Volkswagen Touareg Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi newbie here
Hope someone can give me some advice
I have recently bought an 2.5 tdi auto 2004 all seemed fine untill today
when i turned into my drive i got this awfull judder/vibration so i reversed back and drove in again and it did it again i
got my hubby to have a go he says im paranoid as it didnt do it for him but its the first time it did it for me
so maybe its intermitent
Have done a lot of forum searching and think that the problem could be the stepper motors
does anyone know if there is a way of finding out if my car has had the new software imputted
as that seemed to solve the problem with some cars and would it be worth just going to vw and asking them ?

thanks in advance
troggy

·
114 Posts
It may also have just been the tyres "skipping" sideways if you were on full lock, common on 4-wheel drive cars.

Certainly no harm in checking with VW that the car has had all the software updates done - just call a dealer with your car's chassis number and they should be able to tell you.

·
Chairman
19,968 Posts
Call your dealer's service department ask if they''ll do a free safety check. Takes about an hour so take a paper and be preapred to wait 2 hours as they may wash 'n' vac too!

Whilst there ask them to run off the build sheets and check on FISH/ELSA for any outstanding field campaigns - they'll probably do the latter automatically but ask regardless.

You should also find "recall - job done" stickers on the bare metal around the well in the boot in which your spare wheel is stored.

Get them to check the stepper motor. I did after reading about them on here. Mine has been replaced at some stage as it carries a manufacturing date of September 2006 - fixed just before the VW warranty expired I suspect!

·
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hi
thanks for your advice