Volkswagen Touareg Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Member
Joined
·
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi folks.
my sat nav doesnt seem to no where the newbury bypass is.
it still thinks of the old road.
had a chat with my dad and his doesnt show up on his merc either.
is it the same for every one ?
the bypass was built years ago so id of thought it would be on there ?
plus me car is new !
cheers
tin.
 

·
Member
Joined
·
93 Posts
QUOTE(martin @ Mar 4 2006, 04:34 PM)
hi folks.
my sat nav doesnt seem to no where the newbury bypass is.
it still thinks of the old road.
had a chat with my dad and his doesnt show up on his merc either.
is it the same for every one ?
the bypass was built years ago so id of thought it would be on there ?
plus me car is new !
cheers
tin.
[snapback]18481[/snapback]​

yeap had the same problem on my demonstrator a few weeks ago around farnborough. The sat nav maps are complet c**p. For all that money they are years out of date. I was pointed to http://www.navshop.com/directsales/catalog/default.php

but am not sure if the 2006 disks shown are any better ?

does anybody know ?

I have a touareg arrving may/june time and will be interested to see if i
get 2006 disks or the same old rubbish

Has anybody else noticed the use of old postcodes only as well ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,001 Posts
QUOTE(scott @ Mar 7 2006, 10:33 PM)yeap had the same problem on my demonstrator a few weeks ago around farnborough. The sat nav maps are complet c**p. For all that money they are years out of date. I was pointed to http://www.navshop.com/directsales/catalog/default.php

but am not sure if the 2006 disks shown are any better ?

does anybody know ?

I have a touareg arrving may/june time and will be interested to see? if i
get 2006 disks or the same old rubbish
Has anybody else noticed the use of old postcodes only as well? ?
[snapback]18720[/snapback]​

Even the 2006 has roads missing, C**p realy
 

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
1,553 Posts
i know, the only one that seems to be pretty up to date is the tom tom
 
G

·
just for your reference, the Satnav in my E61 shows the road (not much help to all you Treg owners, but good for me)
 

·
Member
Joined
·
93 Posts
I decided to go with the sat-nav mainly because of the TV option which i will
add later on.

and not so much for its main purpose.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
74 Posts
there is an software update for the post code issue , to sort it out . Go and ask your nearest dealer about it( Only on touch screen units though)

D
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
328 Posts
Had my treg since Saturday. Sat nav was not recognizing any post code out of London. Turns out that the version installed during the PI process contained a bug. Updated today with the DVD that i was supplied with and now it all works. Takes about 1/2 hour to copy to the HDD though.

Funny looks in the stealers yesterday though. Told the tech, "Got to go, i've got to be at the House of Lords by 5:30 !". I think he rushed home hoping to see a new treg battering the gates of parliament on Sky News. I dont give off the air of your average peer.
 

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
400 Posts
i used the satnav through london to go from beckenham to heathrow at one point she said "turn left" ok but when i looked on the display it showed a right turn
:
:arrow:
:evil:

I turned left but as usual the woman was lost...


So if it happens to you, ignore her and follow the screen.
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
Top