Volkswagen Touareg Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Mechanical Guru
2,879 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm not that good with mobile phones and have been searching the forum for help in pairing my partners nokia E71. The phone searched for devices, found the car and then asked me to 'enter code'. My question is where/how do I get a code?

I found this useful post in a previous thread but unlike these instructions my mfd just continues to read 'insert phone'.

stu said:
Jas, i have been through the same thing as you. in the centre arm rest if you have the cradle, it is nothing more than a glorified battery charger!! all it does is hold the phone and charge the battery up, you still need bluetooth to make it all work.

after some searching i discovered that the only nokia phone that fits in the cradle with bluetooth is the 6230i, i bought one of these from ebay brand new in the box etc etc for ?30..

other than that as long as you have bluetooth on the phone you can try connecting it.

1. switch bluetooth on the phone.
2. using steering wheel buttons get to phone connection menu
3. if like mine it will say trying to connect
4. the mfd will then produce a long code which is only displayed for a set length of time so be prepared because you have to type it into your phone.
5. when the code is in the phone and accepted bobs your uncle, as long as the bluetooth is switched on the phone it will automatically pair with the car.

my wifes phone always trys to log on when i am fiddling on the drive (with the car that is.. :oops: ) and she is in the house, so quite a good system.

as i said the only thing the cradle does is charge the battery up which is no bad thing. my wife puts her phone in the ashtray slot and shuts the lid, it keeps the phone secure and out of sight.

yet again don't forget to take it with you......good luck and hope you get sorted out.