Volkswagen Touareg Forum banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,917 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For those of you who, like me, are unable to select the above function for whole life of vehicle (only get "trip" figure), I've been advised that there is a disc on the way to my dealer that will enable them to fix this glitch....

Have also been advised that these discs can take a while to arrive.......
 

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
871 Posts
QUOTE(chrisbin @ Jul 13 2005, 12:57 PM)For those of you who, like me, are unable to select the above function for whole life of vehicle (only get "trip" figure), I've been advised that there is a disc on the way to my dealer that will enable them to fix this glitch....

Have also been advised that these discs can take a while to arrive.......
?

[snapback]6322[/snapback]​

You ain't missing anything mate - my average readings on all the screens consistantly OVER-read by about 2mpg (ie, reading says 28mpg, reality usually 26mpg calculated from fill up to fill up)
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,917 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
QUOTE(meld3 @ Jul 13 2005, 12:49 PM)You ain't missing anything mate - my average readings on all the screens consistantly OVER-read by about 2mpg (ie, reading says 28mpg, reality usually 26mpg calculated from fill up to fill up)
[snapback]6324[/snapback]​

meld, I hear what you say. However it frustrates me that the one function that I'm really interested in, especially to see if it improves with miles, is the mpg. Why on earth they even bother with a calculation for how many hours the car has been driven, escapes me...!!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
635 Posts
QUOTE(chrisbin @ Jul 13 2005, 02:00 PM)especially to see if it improves with miles,

My V6 TDi seems to be getting worse with age, rather than better.

On my journey home from work - about 15 miles, 2-3 miles dual carriageway, then all fast (50mph and considerably beyond...) country roads - I don't get anything more than 21mpg currently.

Granted that's 4mpg better than my petrol Treg, but it is way, way short of what I was expecting.

In fact, with 2,500 miles under the bonnet, the total average mpg since new is just 22mpg. I just had had a 75-litre fill up with only 320 miles on the clock...

All of which leads me to ask if there is a problem with my car. Should it be heading back to the dealer to be checked out?

Is the length of my commute a problem? Do diesel engines suck up a lot more fuel when cold? Questions, questions....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
218 Posts
QUOTE(prhim @ Jul 13 2005, 01:12 PM)My V6 TDi seems to be getting worse with age, rather than better.

On my journey home from work - about 15 miles, 2-3 miles dual carriageway, then all fast (50mph and considerably beyond...) country roads - I don't get anything more than 21mpg currently.

Granted that's 4mpg better than my petrol Treg, but it is way, way short of what I was expecting.

In fact, with 2,500 miles under the bonnet, the total average mpg since new is just 22mpg.? I just had had a 75-litre fill up with only 320 miles on the clock...

All of which leads me to ask if there is a problem with my car.? Should it be heading back to the dealer to be checked out?

Is the length of my commute a problem?? Do diesel engines suck up a lot more fuel when cold?? Questions, questions....
[snapback]6329[/snapback]​

I can assure you that there is nothing wrong with your figure.... I know I have quite a heavy foot and so have been particularly carefull to watch this..... and still I'm only getting an average consumption for the 4,800 miles covered of only 21.9mpg..... I was getting better figures from my 280 bhp Seat Cupra R.... I spoke to my dealer and they apparently claim that it takes anything between 5 - 7.5 k before it settles down to their quoted figure, which if memory serves me is only something like 26 mpg...!!!!!
 

·
Member
Joined
·
728 Posts
QUOTE(chrisbin @ Jul 13 2005, 12:57 PM)For those of you who, like me, are unable to select the above function for whole life of vehicle (only get "trip" figure), I've been advised that there is a disc on the way to my dealer that will enable them to fix this glitch....

Have also been advised that these discs can take a while to arrive.......
?

[snapback]6322[/snapback]​

I am having problems with average fuel consumption readout as well.

I cannot get average fuel consumption read out at the minute. I can get instant consumption. The functionality disappeared just before my trip to France - typical !

My problem started with the bonnet open warning ligt being on until I moved off. VW replaced switch which didn't work, finally after 2 further trips to garage and being without car for a total of 1 week the problem was diagnosed to a water leak in the front "A pillar" which had corroded the terminals on the comfort control unit (Please excuse me if this is not 100% accurate as I am working from memory 6-8 weeks ago!)

VW replaced all carpets and control unit and all work was carried out under warranty. Front wing had to be taken off and replaced - no problems with alignment when it was replaced for those with front door dropping probs who were worried about this. I must admit the local garage does seem to be quite capable.

I will have to call the garage to get a visit rescheduled but interested to hear about the software update. I am suprised it needs to be sent by disc - I would have thought the VW garage should have been able to download the update.

Xila
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,917 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
QUOTE(Xila @ Jul 13 2005, 01:55 PM)I am suprised it needs to be sent by disc - I would have thought the VW garage should have been able to download the update.

Xila
[snapback]6336[/snapback]​

I know....
 
Joined
·
47 Posts
I thought that there where 2 average mileage readings, indicated by a 1 or a 2 next to the average MPG logo.

You toggle between them by pressing and releasing the scroll button (not for too long or you reset the respective readings). I've been using this on my car to record the before and after economy for by just completed RSD tuning conversion
- more to come soon (but lets just say I'm pleased with both the performance gains and the seeming mpg gains)
 
G

·
Chris,

Thanks for the info - my Treg is going in soon for a long awaited respray on the front bumper, so I will ask them to look into this at the same time.

Kaine
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,917 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
QUOTE(Trossach's Tregger @ Jul 13 2005, 05:42 PM)I thought that there where 2 average mileage readings, indicated by a 1 or a 2 next to the average MPG logo.

You toggle between them by pressing and releasing the scroll button (not for too long or you reset the respective readings).? I've been using this on my car to record the before and after economy for by just completed RSD tuning conversion
- more to come soon (but lets just say I'm pleased with both the performance gains and the seeming mpg gains)
[snapback]6344[/snapback]​

Thanks Trossach, but we already know thats how it should work.......but for mpg it doesn't - gives same figure for "1" AND "2"....


Kaine - as soon as I know anymore I will let you know but I've been advised not to hold my breath.....
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,917 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
QUOTE(Trossach's Tregger @ Jul 14 2005, 05:34 PM)Strange - Mine gives different readings?


Wasn't trying to teach anybody how to suck eggs

[snapback]6382[/snapback]​


Sorry! Did I sound tetchy? Its the weather!!! And the fact that it still isn't sorted!!!

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
876 Posts
Reading some of these MFD issues, something springs to mind have you tried a reset to factory settings or going in to another language and then back again.You should not lose your mileage settings............ WARNING.... If you go for factory settings you will have to reset everything but your mileage. If you are unsure don't do anything leave it to the dealer!

In my case I could not get some of the menu headings, but by going into German then back again they reappeared.
 
G

·
QUOTE(pilgrim @ Jul 15 2005, 09:43 AM)Reading some of these MFD issues, something springs to mind have you tried a reset to factory settings or going in to another language and then back again.You should not lose your mileage settings.WARNING If you go for factory settings you will have to reset everything but your mileage. If you are unsure don't do anything leave it to the dealer!?

In my case I could not get some of the menu headings, but by going into German? then back again they reappeared.

[snapback]6401[/snapback]​

Cheers - I'll try it as soon as the wife brings the Treg back
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,917 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
Well its got to be worth a try, certainly. However, I know of Treg's in Austria and Australia that have same problem
and no one has come up with a fix to date......
 

·
Member
Joined
·
728 Posts
QUOTE(pilgrim @ Jul 15 2005, 09:43 AM)Reading some of these MFD issues, something springs to mind have you tried a reset to factory settings or going in to another language and then back again.You should not lose your mileage settings............? ? ? WARNING.... If you go for factory settings you will have to reset everything but your mileage. If you are unsure don't do anything leave it to the dealer!?

In my case I could not get some of the menu headings, but by going into German? then back again they reappeared.

[snapback]6401[/snapback]​

Pilgrim,

I don't think I have ever seen a language option. Also don't believe I have seen a factory reset option. Can you give me a pointer on how to access these

Thanks

Xila
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
876 Posts
Here we are people just scroll down, as you can see its right at the bottom of the conv-setup, language, units, factory set. Hope thats of help, it is in the manual.


 

·
Junior Member
Joined
·
25 Posts
Remember the colour MFI fitted on tregs with the satnav or air suspention option is different to the mono (red) mfi fitted to tregs without these options.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,917 Posts
Discussion Starter · #20 ·
Still trying to resolve this issue........disk supposedly sent to dealer got lost.......!!!

Been told that another on the way.......

And now, Touareg Techy is supposed to be at MK HQ tomorrow and hopes to pick up disk from there........



Edited to add latest news today:

QUOTEGood news - Simon managed to get a disc yesterday when he was at Milton keynes - just need to book you in now - only need your car for an hour but we are fully booked til FRiday 2nd September at present.?

Please let me know when you want to come in and fingers crossed the disc will work.

 
1 - 20 of 62 Posts
Top